Binding to FrontInView

Mar 19, 2009 at 5:20 PM
Hi, First off.. great project!, i love the ContentControl3d and am planning to use it extensivly in my app i'm working on at the moment. However i have one thing i can't figure out how to accomplish. I wan't a few of these controls to bind to a property on my viewmodel. For example. i have a property isDetailed on my viewmodel. I want the user to be able to select a detailed or a picture view for a given object (let's say a customer). Whenever a user selects the option 'detailed view' i want a couple of controls to automatically flip to the detailed side of the control. Without the user actually clicking the control. My question is how can i tie this together to my viewmodel. I was thinking of binding it to the IsFrontInView property but it's a readonly property. What is the easiest/best way to achieve this behavior ?

Thanks in any case for this great control, i'm just a hobbyist (yes they exist :D) and your articles, and in this case controls, are a great learning tool for me, keep it up !!, Jape
Coordinator
Mar 19, 2009 at 5:55 PM
Hi Jape,

Thanks for your feedback!  I'm really glad to know that my hobby assists you in yours. :)

While designing and implementing ContentControl3D, I thought long and hard about whether or not to make IsFrontInView a read-only property or not.  Since I could not think of a use case that justified having it be read-write, I kept it as read-only.  Now that you have presented me with this compelling reason, I will set aside some time to make IsFrontInView read-write. 

Thanks,
Josh
Coordinator
Mar 19, 2009 at 5:56 PM
This discussion has been copied to a work item. Click here to go to the work item and continue the discussion.
Coordinator
Mar 20, 2009 at 2:39 AM
Hi Jape,